Captain Blake … er, Blakey America

20 Oct

Captain Blakey

Given our joint love for Captain America, it didn’t take us long to decide what costume I should make Blake for Halloween this year. The only question was how to go about creating the outfit, and ensuring it was one that Blake would actually be willing to wear – whether at his day camp Halloween party or while scavenging our new neighborhood for candy.

I decided to go uber-simple, creating a shield and headband, and allowing him to fill the gaps with a Captain America tee and simple blue pants. All I needed:

Red, white and blue fleece (remnant bin @ 50% off!)

(1) 2 in. seat cushion ($8 – I forgot my coupon or it would have been $4)

Fluff & stuff pillow filling (onhand)

Granted, I’m not a perfect freehand circle-maker. But I think the shield came out really great. Not only is it super useful in terms of protecting myself when Blake charges at me, but it looks super-cute as an extra throw on his bed or the couch.

Best. Little Golden Book. Evah. (Actually, it's really poorly written! But we still love it!)

There is literally nothing in this world that makes me happier than when Blake lights up like a Christmas tree because of something I made him. And let me tell you – he loves this Captain America shield. And I love the fact that it’s something he will still be playing with, long past Halloween just like the Super Blake cape I made him last year, which he sported so proudly at Comic Con this summer :).

Super Blake - still going strong, even after Halloween 2010

Hells, yeah!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

