“I want a maker thing …”

1 Oct

"I want a maker thing" - least specific Christmas request everNow that we’re all moved into the new place, I’ve been spending time on sorting and putting away all the really important stuff: old photos and memories I’ve had in storage for at least a decade.

My most recent fave is my Christmas list from – I’m guessing – 1980-ish. It reads (give or take a few scribbles):

Dear Santa,

I want a jewelry set. I want a maker thing. A hobbly hobby oven. (stet) A wonder woman suit. A thing to dry your hair with. I want just a yellow wig.

God bless my mom for keeping this work of art. I’m pretty sure I got all of those things in one form or another over the years. It might have been an Easy Bake oven instead of Holly Hobby. But I definitely got a Holly Hobby sleeping bag one Christmas, so it evens out.

Yeah - I'm pretty sure we never could have afforded this. Easy Bake oven must have been my runner-up.

And the Wonder Woman suit turned into Wonder Woman underoos. But that’s probably what I meant anyway, knowing me.

Who needs a Wonder Woman outfit when you can have Wonder Woman underpants?

For the number of times I’ve colored my hair over the years, I’ve basically had a yellow wig 10x over.

As for the “thing to dry your hair with” – also known as … a hair-dryer – I’ve actually turned into a girl who doesn’t use one, so it’s cute that I used to think I would.

So. Here’s to little Christmas wishes, and how easy it used to be to make them come true. And to moms who didn’t just take time to write out their 3-year-old daughter’s letter to Santa, but to keep it for decades, just in the off chance it would one day make that girl smile. (It totally did, btw.)

xoxo

One Response to ““I want a maker thing …””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. With eyes like this (grrrrr) … « Comm Couture - December 13, 2011

    […] – inspired by finding the Christmas list my mom saved for me when I was 3, I sat down with Blake Dean this morning to write out our very […]

Leave a Reply

