Girl crush redux

5 Sep

"You left me nothing ..." - painting by Clint Stalnaker

So – before I hit the Liz Phair/Aimee Mann show in Saratoga, I briefly touched upon my 15+year love affair with Liz Phair. A picture is worth a 1,000 words, and I recently found a few that accurately reflect my love for the lovely Liz, a la the mid 1990s.

The above is a jacket my brother painted for me in high school with the cover of Liz’s album “Exile in Guyville.” I’m not sure it was finished in this pic, but in the end there was a text overlay that read “You left me nothing …” – a line from “Johnny Sunshine,” one of my fave Liz Phair songs. Since I was 5 feet tall, and weighed about 80 pounds, the man-sized motorcycle jacket was ridiculously large on me. But even in my ridiculous-ness I felt proud to wear it … daily … even in 90+degree Pittsburgh heat.

When crush turns to obsession: I'm pretty sure I had this hanging on my wall. At work.

I had a friend in high school, Dan Piser, who was equally obsessed with Liz, and we doted on her in whatever way it was possible to dote on a star back in the 1990s. We didn’t have the internet, and I’m pretty sure neither one of us had our own computers. But somehow Dan created this beautiful testament of our love: a picture of Liz embracing me, which I hung on my wall through at least my first year of college. Because, you know, it’s totally normal to hang a picture like this on your wall when you’re in love [er, obsessed] with a certain singer.

Another jacket by my brother: Minor Threat. I had a major crush, of the boy kind, on Ian.

On another note, the Liz jacket reminded me of another jacket my brother did – for himself – of Minor Threat. They were another obsession of mine in high school. And if I were 6’2 like my brother, I would have probably tried to steal this jacket for myself as well.

Anyway, a short walk down memory lane care of a box full of old pictures and an ueber-talented brother that helped bring my crushes to life.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

