Happy Birthday, Blake Dean

2 Mar

Two years ago today, Blake Dean – with an impeccable sense of timing – was born. It was three weeks before his anticipated due-date, and we – his ever-prepared parents – were hundreds of miles from home. We had no diapers, no blankets, no baby accoutrement with us. It was the most perfect day of my entire life.

Before I sound too irresponsible, I want to explain. We had driven to Arizona because my father-in-law was extremely ill, and we were hoping to see him at least one more time before he passed away. Apparently, Blake was hoping for the same thing because within a few days of arriving in Arizona, I went into labor. Blake Dean spent the next two weeks sleeping in a laundry basket … but surrounded by his family, including a grandfather who would never have had a chance to meet him otherwise. Jon Fantin passed away October 9, 2008 – one day before Blake’s original due-date.

A few days after Blake was born, a priest came to my in-laws’ home to give my father-in-law his Last Rites. Directly after, he blessed Blake Dean in one of the most surreal moments I’ve ever experienced – a true example of the circle of life living in all of us.

I don’t really have a point to this post, other than the fact that sometimes, even the most imperfect situation is actually an incredible blessing. No matter how much planning and worrying you do in preparation for an event, sometimes things simply don’t turn out the way you expected them to. But sometimes the way they *do* turn out is even better than you ever imagined.

My son was born during a time of sadness for my husband’s family, but his presence has brought so much happiness and joy to help them throughout their journey (not to mention to me in my own personal struggles). Happy Birthday, Blake Dean. Thank you for coming into our lives at precisely the right moment. I can’t imagine life without you.

Leave a Reply

